LibGuides: American Sign Language : Books/eBooks

eBooks Databases

MGCCC library offers many ebook databases, located on the library website http://www.mgccc.edu/library/

eBook Central (PROQUEST)
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Central is a collection of more than 135,000 full-text ebooks covering a wide range of subjects, including business and economics, computers, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
A database that contains all of the full text eBooks purchased by the MELO consortium.
eBook Community College Collection (EBSCO)
Focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges, this multidisciplinary collection contains more than 52,000 eBook titles, with content spanning a range of topics, programs, and fields of study and varying from introductory/basic content to higher-level content, all with a user-friendly search experience and simple download process.
Gale eBooks (GALE)
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
OverDrive
- This link opens in a new window
(Contact Library to create an account). eBooks and audiobooks for your Kindle, computer, or mobile device.

eBooks

Use the MGCCC Online Card Catalog, located on the library website http://www.mgccc.edu/library/ to find materials at the three campus libraries. The card catalog also includes titles in the electronic books collections.Electronic books are accessed from the library website.

Please note that the eBooks featured below are a sample of resources available.

Sign Language Archaeology : Understanding the Historical Roots of American Sign Language
• This engrossing study investigates the infancy of American Sign Language (ASL). The authors highlight the major events in ASL history, revealing much of what has not been clearly understood until now. According to tradition, ASL evolved from French Sign Language. By tracing the writings of selected individuals, this study reconstructs the historical context for early ASL grammar. It describes the language used in each century and how it changed, and focuses on the rediscovery of the literary legacy of the Deaf American voice
•
Signs of the Times
This book is an excellent beginner's American Sign Language textbook designed for use in the classroom or at home. Organized into 44 lessons, it presents more than 1,300 signs representing 3,500 English glosses. Each lesson contains clear illustrations of all signs, English equivalent words and synonyms, sample sentences to define vocabulary context, and practice sentences to display and reinforce ASL usage. Signs of the Times is a complete text that includes new class activities for teachers, plus new student activities that can be done in class, as homework, or as quizzes. The clear, easy-to-understand sign illustrations facilitates the learning process, enhancing students' success while also making ASL fun.
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language : The Origin and Evolution of More Than 500 Signs
The story of how American Sign Language (ASL) came to be is almost mythic. In the early 19th century, a hearing American reverend, Thomas Hopkins Gallaudet, met a Deaf French educator, Laurent Clerc, who agreed to come to the United States and help establish the first school in America to use sign language to teach deaf children. This book is the first to collect all known texts featuring illustrations of early ASL and historical images of French Sign Language—langue des signes française (LSF)—and link them with contemporary signs.

Card Catalog

Use the MGCCC Online Card Catalog, located on the library website http://www.mgccc.edu/library/ to find print materials at the three campus libraries. The card catalog also includes titles in the electronic books collections. Physical books may be borrowed from the campus libraries. Electronic books are accessed from the library website.

Please note that the print books featured below are a sample of resources available.

American Sign Language Demystified with DVD by Kristin Mulrooney
Call Number: HV2476.4 .M85 2010
ISBN: 9780071601375
Publication Date: 2009-12-04
Want to communicate with the Deaf community but are mystified how to start? With American Sign Language Demystified you'll learn this unique visual language, and a whole new world of communication will be opened to you
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by Richard A. Tennant; Marianne Gluszak Brown; Valerie Nelson-Metlay (Illustrator)
Call Number: HV2475 .T46 2010
ISBN: 9781563684449
Publication Date: 2010-07-31
Featuring
*More than 1,900 Sign Illustrations Including 327 New Signs
*Plus DVD Showing How to Form Signs
*Arranged by Handshape for Easy Identification
*Complete Index of English Vocabulary for All Signs
*An Introduction to Deaf Culture and ASL Structure
1,000 Words to Sign by Geoffrey Poor
Call Number: HV2476.4 .P66 2010
ISBN: 9781607101932
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
The fourth-most common language in America is ASL, American Sign Language. It's a complex system that uses signs made with the hands (as well as different facial expressions and body postures) to communicate. Learn the most commonly signed words in ASL in 1,000 Words to Sign.
The Baby Signing Book by Sara Bingham
Call Number: BF720 .C65 B55 2007
ISBN: 9780778804512
Publication Date: 2013-01-23
Communicate with babies -- even before they can speak.

Catalog Search Tips

Think Broadly. Remember to think broadly when searching for books - that is, to realize that your specific topic will probably be treated in books that cover a broader subject.

Once you find a book relevant to your topic, use the subject headings to help you find more.

Search Examples:

Keyword(s)
- ASL, American Sign Language, "American Sign Language"
Subject
- Language

American Sign Language : Books/eBooks

eBooks Databases

eBooks

Card Catalog

Catalog Search Tips

Visit with a College Representative

Pathways

Enroll

Financial Aid

About

Athletics

Contact