A selection of online books from eBook databases
Annual Review of Nursing Research, Volume 38 by
This landmark annual review has provided nearly three decades of knowledge, insight, and research on topics critical to nurses everywhere. The purpose of this Annual Review is to critically examine the full gamut of literature on key topics in nursing practice, including nursing theory, care delivery, nursing education, and the professional aspects of nursing.Environmental issues such as chemical exposures, air, and water pollution, climate change, and food sustainability impact health on both a local and global scale. This thirty-eighth volume of Annual Review of Nursing Research addresses the influence that nurses have on environmental health. It contains research, education, advocacy, and practice-based articles that provide nurses with a primer on this growing issue, as well as the information needed to provide capable care while supporting environmentally healthy solutions. Key Topics: Air Quality Impact Upon Human Health CHANT: Climate, Health, and Nursing Tool Climate Change Initiatives in Nursing Education Environmental Health Equity Nurse-Sensitive Environmental Indicators Nurses' Contributions to Health-Related Wildfire Research Per- and Polyfluoroalkyl Substances (PFAS) Water in Detroit and Flint Michigan
Application of Nursing Informatics by
Designed to provide a foundation for nursing informatics knowledge and skills required in today's data-driven healthcare environment, this text examines the impact and implementation of technology in nursing practice. Patient healthcare needs have only become more complex in a rapidly aging and diversifying population. Nurse Informaticists, as experts in improving healthcare delivery through data and technology, play a key role in ensuring quality and safety to patients. This text relies on nurses' practical experience to foster higher-level critical thinking and decision-making for professional development in informatics and life-long learning. Application of Informatics and Technology in Nursing Practice addresses the foundations of Nursing Informatics competencies, streamlined for the unique experience of practicing nurses. Organized around the framework of AACN Essentials of Baccalaureate Education, ANA Scope and Standards of Practice for Nursing Informatics, Institute of Medicine (IOM) Competencies, and Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs), this text features numerous case scenarios of real-life applications to engage the reader and reinforce content. Chapters cover informatics competencies, knowledge, and skills in a concise manner that recognizes the value of prior nursing experience and builds upon the reader's existing knowledge-base. Key FeaturesProvides information needed for all nurses in order to advance professionally in the new discipline and specialty of Nursing Informatics.Each chapter contains relevant critical thinking exercises, vignettes, and case studiesProvides information and skills needed by nurses specific to a variety of healthcare settingsEach chapter contains end-of-Chapter Learning Assessments: What Do You Know Now?Instructor Ancillary Package is included
Career Clarity for Nurses by
Career Clarity for Nurses helps nurses uncover what they really want from their job that will make their career direction obvious and natural. As a travel nurse, Karen Wade spent years working side-by-side with nurses in facilities across the country where she felt and heard about almost universal job stressors. With her doctorate in organizational psychology and years of experience helping people and organizations optimize their wellbeing and effectiveness, in Career Clarity for Nurses, Karen teaches nurses how to: Use their emotions effectively to manage stress while increasing their focus and a state of calmness Transform difficult relationships with coworkers into supportive ones Embrace their unique path to self-care and optimal health Uncover what they really want from their job that will make their career direction obvious and natural Know if they can be happy in their current nursing job or need to transition to another role
Etiquette and Communication Strategies for Nurses, Third Edition by 
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education by
The only text to comprehensively address the assessment of student learning, as well as the evaluation of instructor and program effectiveness, in a wide variety of settings. Long considered the gold standard for evaluation and testing in nursing education, the sixth edition of this classic text provides expert and comprehensive guidance for educators in the assessment of student learning in a wide variety of settings, as well as the evaluation of instructor and program effectiveness. It presents fundamental measurement and evaluation concepts that will aid nurse educators in the design, critique, and use of appropriate tests and evaluation tools. Important social, ethical, and legal issues associated with testing and evaluation also are explored, including the prevention of cheating and academic policies for testing, grading, and progression.Written by experts in the field of nursing education, Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education features practical advice on the development of test blueprints; creation of all types of test items, including next-generation NCLEX-type items; the assembly, administration, and scoring of tests; test and item analyses and how to use analyses to interpret and improve tests; evaluation of higher levels of learning; assessment of written assignments; and suggestions for creating tests in online courses and programs. An entire section is devoted to clinical evaluation process and methods, including the use of simulation for assessment and high-stakes evaluation; clinical evaluation in distance settings; and the use of technology for remote evaluation of clinical performance. The text meets the NLN CNE Certification Competency #3: Use Assessment & Evaluation Strategies. New to This Edition: Expanded coverage of test item analysis and how to use analyses to interpret and improve tests Expanded coverage of clinical evaluation processes and methods Guidance on how to work with part-time clinical educators and preceptors to ensure that evaluation processes are followed consistently Expanded content on the construction and administration of online tests Tips for adapting test-bank items and other item-writing resources Guidelines for the design of academic policies for academic integrity, testing, grading, and progression Key Features: Describes how to develop test blueprints and assemble, administer, write, and analyze tests Provides guidelines for the selection of standardized tests for a nursing curriculum Details how to evaluate written assignments with sample scoring rubrics Includes a robust ancillary package: Instructor Manual with sample syllabus, course modules, learning activities, discussion questions, assessment strategies, and online resources; chapter PowerPoint slides; and a collection of sample test items Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
In the updated fourth edition of this award-winning title, more than 1, 230 alphabetically arranged entries, of which about 100 are new, cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
General Practice Nursing: Foundational Principles by 
Lippincott Visual Nursing by
For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
When searching for books, a good search strategy will help you find more relevant results. Develop a list of search terms that will help you find books related to your topic. When developing your list, consider the following:
Subject headings to start with:
If you want to walk the shelves rather than search the catalog, start in these sections. Ask a librarian to walk you there if you aren't sure how to find them.
A selection of current print books
Communication in Nursing by
Immerse yourself in the ideas, theories, and techniques of effective communication in the workplace! Communication in Nursing, 9th Edition adopts a uniquely practical and personal approach to the demands of today's nursing practice, providing extensive examples, exercises, and techniques that help you to apply communication skills in a variety of clinical settings. Using a conversational tone, this relatable text takes you beyond theory to show you how to understand important concepts and use communication as a tool to limit stress in your nursing practice. The 9th edition includes a new chapter which focuses on the foundation of communication and personality assessment. It also includes a new Putting it into Practice feature to help you apply your new communication skills in the work environment. In addition, updates on the topics of mindfulness, resilience and inter-collaborative communication highlight the importance of implementing these tools in practice. Active Learning features in every chapter promotes active, goal-directed reading. Wit & Wisdom boxes present selected verses and quotations relevant to chapter topics, adding interest and humor. These boxes provide moments of relief from serious topics and "a-ha" moments when theory becomes linked to practice. End-of-chapter exercises help you to master chapter techniques and strengthen your communication skills. QSEN preface and exercises stress how communication impacts safety and quality of care. Discusses the importance of interprofessional education and communication in the healthcare environment. Addresses the importance of "presence" in nursing - being present for clients, families, colleagues, and self. NEW! Starting with You chapter focuses on personality assessment using the Gallup CliftonStrengths among additional assessment methods. Two chapters have been combined to create a new one titled, Communicating Assertively and Responsibly with "Difficult" Clients and Colleagues, to help you better address aggressive and difficult clients and colleagues. UPDATED! Navigating the Expanding World of Digital Communication and Understanding Each Other chapters have been extensively updated to reflect most recent information. NEW! Chapter exercises incorporate teaching strategies such as cinemeducation and medical improvisation to help facilitate various learning types. UPDATED! Topics of mindfulness, resilience, and inter-collaborative communication have been incorporated throughout. NEW! Additional examples incorporated into Moments of Connection boxes highlight beneficial outcomes of successful communication and provide concrete examples of how communication techniques work.
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals by
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes:  a new chapter on systematic literature views;  a new chapter on research ethics;  a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference by
Put the most trusted name in nursing in your hands. Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text and on the free app - including 20-30 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA. Plus, no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects of 50 common drug classes. This 33rd edition proves once again why Mosby's is the bestselling drug reference for nurses on the market! Coverage of more than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs provides information for almost every drug a student is likely to encounter in clinicals. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. IV drug administration coverage in bold highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Logical, alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendices. NEW! 20-30 added monographs provide up-to-date content on newly released, FDA-approved drugs and drug therapies. NEW! More than 20 new Evolve-only drug monographs added to the existing Evolve-only drug monographs. NEW! Numerous herbal drug monographs included on Evolve site.
Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis by
Portable and easy-to-use, Mosby's Guide to Nursing Diagnosis, 6th Edition is ideal for use in clinicals, in class, and at the bedside! This pocket-sized reference book is a condensed version Ackley's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 12th Edition that helps you diagnose and formulate care plans with confidence and ease. Using a quick-access format, it includes the 2018-20 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses based on more than 1,300 specific symptoms and a step-by-step guide to creating care plans, featuring desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Plus, alphabetic thumb tabs allow for quick and easy access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. UNIQUE! Includes care plans for every NANDA-I approved nursing diagnosis, including pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning interventions. Alphabetical thumb tabs provides your students with quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Pocketsize portability makes this book easy to carry and use in clinicals, in class, or at the bedside. Nursing Diagnoses Index on the inside front and back cover. NEW! UNIQUE! 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses complete with 16 new diagnoses.
Nursing Care Plans by
Updated with NANDA-I Nursing Diagnoses 2018-20 The all-in-one care planning resource! Here's the step-by-step guidance you need to develop individualized plans of care while also honing your critical-thinking and analytical skills. You'll find about 160 care plans in all, covering acute, community, and home-care settings across the life span. Each plan features... Client assessment database for each medical condition Complete listings of nursing diagnoses organized by priority Diagnostic studies with explanations of the reason for the test and what the results mean Actions and interventions with comprehensive rationales NANDA, NIC, and NOC's most recent guidelines and terminology Evidence-based citations Index of nursing diagnoses and their associated disorders See what students are saying... Very straightforward and user-friendly! "An excellent clinical care resource for nurses and nursing students alike. I found it especially helpful the way the book organized the most commonly relevant nursing diagnoses associated with each major condition (in prominent headers and text boxes), managing to summarize them in concise, yet informative sections." -ShuaiNan Fang Nursing Care Plans. "Best thing I have bought while in Nursing School. Has helped me with all my care plans."--Diana Davison Excellent book! "Great book for anyone who is writing care plans! All evidence based rationales included! Good luck to all in nursing school!"--PatDon Prioritized interventions and rationales that I love. This is the BEST care planning book that... "This is the BEST care planning book that I have purchased...and I have purchased several. This one gives you a complete rundown of a condition - pathophysiology, classification, etiology, statistics, glossary of terms, related concerns, labs/diagnostic procedures, patient need categories with symptoms, priorities, goals, diagnoses, actions and interventions AND rationales for each...yes, each! This book will not have every disease/condition, but it has a lot. Wonderful tool when you are beginning to construct care plans. I wish I had it earlier. Highly recommend buying both of them together."--C.M.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
Ready. Set.
Gulf Coast.