Cicero's Corner, Center for Speaking

Most of the library resources live in databases. Databases collect information and make that information searchable. A complete list of our databases can be viewed on the A to Z page, but databases are not limited to library resources. Databases you are more likely to be familiar with are things like Netflix or Spotify. Databases have some common characteristics, whether they are for academic research or personal use:

• Databases collect information around a specific topic or field. For the Netflix and Spotify example, the "topics" would be movies/tv shows and music. The Library's academic databases cover topics such as business, history, current events, and much more.
• Databases collect specific types of information. Netflix has video files and Spotify has music files. The Library's databases include print books, ebooks, journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, videos, photographs, and maps, among other things.

With those two things in mind, picking the right database to search is key in academic research. If you want more information on how to create good search terms, how to pair them using Boolean searching, filtering options, check out the Search Strategies Guide.

A Systematic Review of Self-Coping Strategies Used by University Students to Cope with Public Speaking Anxiety

This paper reviews the existing evidence to understand the complexities of strategies that university students use to reduce their fear of public speaking.

To intervene: a transcending and reorienting goal for public speaking

Article that proposes we re-examine the different kinds of speeches because, "In essence, when we speak, we do more than attempt to inform, persuade, or invite. We intervene in how we constitute and name reality".

An Evaluation of a Course Aimed at Reducing Public Speaking Anxiety among University Students

The following paper evaluates the effectiveness of a course aimed at reducing student's levels of public speaking anxiety.