Research - The Steps - Comp 1 - Broussard - LibGuides at Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Step 1: Background Research and Research Questions

Topic: Cancel Culture

Write your research in the form of a question.
- Example: Should we "cancel" people we disagree with?
You'll likely have multiple questions you need to answer in order to write a paper answering your "big" question.
- What does cancel mean? Stop supporting financially? Speak out about them? Something else?
- When is it okay to simply disagree and when is a difference of opinion problematic?
Background research will definitely be involved!

Step 2: Develop Search Terms

Argument: We should not support R. Kelly.

Research Question 1: Is there a difference in the profit made off of music between albums sold and streaming music.

Nouns and verbs
Jargon
Synonyms

Step 3: Find your Information Sources - Database Examples

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary science, plant sciences, forestry, farming, and more.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Essential subjects covered in this resource include gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism, gender identity and more.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO. These citations, when viewed via EBSCOhost, have the ability to link to articles from more than 500 full text journals contained within Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 28 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
PrepSTEP for Community Colleges This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Create an account to use). PrepSTEP is a dynamic online eLearning platform that can help you prepare for success in school and the workplace. It has self-guided academic skill-building resources and tools for career readiness.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service which offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. The Master Academic Collection brings together over 25,000 videos from many areas of study, including health &medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, business & economics, as well as archival films & newsreels.

Comp 1 - Broussard

Step 1: Background Research and Research Questions

Step 2: Develop Search Terms

Step 3: Find your Information Sources - Database Examples

Visit with a College Representative

Pathways

Enroll

Financial Aid

About

Athletics

Contact