Recommended Resources - Comp 1 - Broussard - LibGuides at Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Background Research Databases

SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles exploring social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and global issues; Pro vs. Con; Todays News; Leading Issues. *Funded by MELO.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point(argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Explore the most debated topics integrated with the best multimedia available today: video, audio streams and podcasts; easy-to-use image gallery; national and global news sources updated daily; expert-selected full-text articles; and interactive maps.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete source for in-depth analysis on the most current and controversial issues of the day.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of more than 450,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full text run of Biography Today and Biography magazine, as well as thousands of narrative biographies that are not available in other databases.