Library Resources - BIO 2924 - Morris - LibGuides at Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Database Research Tips

For this project, you'll need to find resources on your human infectious disease in order to complete the assignment. The databases below are recommended for this particular project. With those in mind, use these research tips for successful searches:

eBooks have a "search within" feature that allows you to search the entire book for a particular word - use this very helpful tool!
Use subject headings to narrow your results list to highly relevant information.
Databases with journal articles will let you narrow to peer-reviewed sources. Find this check box to limit your resources and satisfy this requirement for your paper.
To adequately cover all sections of the paper, you may need to cite more than the minimum required. Use the library resources to cover all topics thoroughly.
Databases frequently give you the citation for the source you are using. Make sure you find the APA version of the citation, and remember you will need to provide the in-text citation yourself.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly full-text database covering multiple disciplines
AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of Patient Advisory Leaflets that provides vital education on medications for patients.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
eBook Central is a collection of more than 135,000 full-text ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of ebooks covering a wide range of subjects.
eBook Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focused on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges, this multidisciplinary collection contains more than 52,000 eBook titles.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.