Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature: Internet Resources

Roving eyes find the Frankenstein monster looming everywhere, around the world. What does it mean? Occasional glimpses all add up. Share your thoughts and sightings of the monster made by man.

This webpage includes an audio recording of an interview with illustrator Gris Grimly about his experience adapting Shelley’s Frankenstein for a graphic novel.

This online graphic novel illustrates a biography of Mary Shelley with graphic-novel style drawings.

Allingham, Philip V, ed..
Contains descriptions of several articles that critiqued Shelley’s Frankenstein in the 20th century.

Portraits and a brief biography of Mary Shelley are available on this site. The biography offers links to other National Portrait Gallery pages featuring her parents, Mary Woollstonecraft and William Godwin; her husband Percy Bysshe Shelley; and a friend Byron.

This webpage includes a list of recommended readings about Mary Shelley, a narrative of Shelley’s life, and a list of her published works.

Poetry Foundation offers online a biography of Mary Shelley with excerpts of her writing.

“The Frankenstein Monster (1973–1975)” gives an overview of the Marvel Comics series, The Frankenstein Monster, which ran from January 1973 to September 1975.

Bodleian Libraries, Oxford University. Letters and literary manuscripts related to Shelley brought to life in readings by University
of Oxford student actors.

A podcast interview of Ruth Franklin, a literary critic and senior editor at the New Republic, who offers her interpretations of the journals and manuscripts from Mary Shelley on view at the New York Public Library.

Works by Mary Shelley available online at Project Gutenberg.

The main purpose of this site is to provide information on Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, especially material that might not be readily available or accessible in every library. Currently we offer a chronology of Mary Shelley's life and work and several contemporary reviews of her novels, as well as reviews of the plays inspired by Frankenstein. As with most of the web, this page is continuously developing, and I continue to check and refine the dates in the chronology. Please keep checking this page for further notes, reviews, and information on MWS.

Founded in 1925, the American Association for the History of Medicine (AAHM) is a professional association of historians, physicians, nurses, archivists, curators, librarians, and others. The AAHM promotes and encourages research, study, writing, and interest in the history of medicine and allied fields.

Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich historical resources, as well as select modern resources.

This site celebrates twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health. It makes the archival collections of prominent scientists, physicians, and others who have advanced the scientific enterprise available to the public through modern digital technology.

An essay on the connections between science and literature during the Romantic era.

An overview of the history and cultural impact of Gothic novels such as Frankenstein.

An introduction to Romanticism—the philosophical movement that redefined the fundamental ways in which people in Western cultures thought about themselves and about their world.

A digital archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including clinical medicine and public health.

A refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture

It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. They fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), on the campus of the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland, has been a center of information innovation since its founding in 1836. The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology. In addition, the Library coordinates a 6,500-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine that promotes and provides access to health information in communities across the United States.

For Consumer Health Information

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Investigates biomedical issues and analyzes data applying mathematics and computational techniques; and produces tools to handle vast amounts of data on DNA and RNA, genetics, genomics, biochemistry, and taxonomy. The center’s web site includes databases, data analysis tools, access to journals, and information on current research in computational biomedicine. It provides online tutorial resources to help researchers access and use its tools and data in their studies of genes and applications of their findings.